Quantcast
 
The Old Mill
9 Old Mill Lane
Rose Valley, PA 19063  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (33)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.1/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Don Connors was difficult to contact, difficult to deal with, late, and rude. He was the one unpleasant aspect of a perfect day. I would never recommend his catering service solely because of him--his servers were excellent, the appetizers were excellent, the entrees were average.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Be prepared for hidden fees that are disclosed from the start and a lot of stress doing things on your own since packages are not provided. You will need to bring your own alcohol as they do not provide any booze, provide your own centerpieces, and provide your own cake. They do not offer a complimentary food tasting. That'll cost you $300! Use of the tent, courtyard area, and heaters are all an additional cost. We knew about the alcohol but there were other hidden costs that were not explained to us when we asked about these costs during our initial meeting. You will also not get a price per head until you select your final menu which is not until a few months before the wedding. The price he gives you per person does not include sales tax and gratuity which will add on another 24% to your cost (6% tax and 28% gratuity). Upon initial consultation when asking about cost per head, Donald said it would be a reasonable price of $60-$70 per head but when choosing our basic chicken dinner and no "fluff" such as a dessert table, pretzel table, cheese steak table, etc. our cost came out closer to $80 before tax and gratuity.

Donald was extremely difficult to get ahold of. He does not reply to emails or voice mails within a timely manner. Waiting a week or two for a response to an email or a phone call back is unacceptable especially when you're trying to square away arrangements with other vendors.

The venue is absolutely beautiful and I'm certainly not suggesting people not book it. However, I feel people should be fully told up front what all costs will be so people can see if it truly fits within their budget and if it's worth it to them to deal with all the stress of not having any type of package.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
For beauty of setting, flow of ceremony/reception, and deliciousness of food, The Old Mill can't be beat. Donald Connor has a ton of experience and guided us into making good decisions that enhanced the day. Serving "family style" was a huge hit. We loved being able to supply our own alcohol; we were able to build a bar around our guests' preferences. The staff is wonderful and so professional! They made sure that our daughter and new son-in-law didn't miss out on appetizers, even though they weren't able to mingle with us right after the ceremony. People raved about the appetizers! Donald can be difficult to contact, however. That said, we received so many compliments and comments on the beauty of the wedding, the wonderful space, and the fabulous food! The stream-side ceremony, cocktails in the tent and open courtyard, and lunch indoors (air-conditioned!) with dancing - it was all so, so beautiful and seamless.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The Venue turned out better than I expected when I arrived on my wedding day. The staff was great and was very attentive to all of the quest. The Food was amazing, Donald Conner really knows what he is doing. We couldn't have asked for a better day. We are so thankful that everything went accordingly. Thank you for everything!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Private User 3 Reviews
Beautiful for outdoor pictures. Very nice place. Have had many events here over the years.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shannon 3 Reviews
We cannot thank you guys enough for all you did to make our wedding day absolutely perfect. From the food to the professional staff, we couldn't have been happier! We are still smiling!

We chose to get married on 11/8/13 in the stunning courtyard with the faux ceiling and stone arches. It was BEAUTIFUL, but, a little chilly. Without asking, Jeanne and Don put a cute little cart filled with hot apple cider and ginger snaps by the entrance to the venue. Our guests LOVED it! They also went around to our guests with special dietary needs and prepared special meals for them. Our niece and nephews even got chicken fingers and fries - they were in heaven!

The bar staff was fabulous and the service was impeccable! Lena, Mike and Dion especially stood out. But, everyone was outstanding (I just couldn't remember all of their names).

The bamboo garden was a HUGE hit with the family and photographer. Cocktail hour, under the tent, was decorated beautifully. Our guests couldn't stop raving about the appetizers. And, the portions were incredible! They went in for dinner and didn't realize they were getting more food!

We seriously cannot thank you enough for making our day perfect. Bravo to The Old Mill, Conner Catering, Fresh Florist Designs and Doughmain Bakery! But, especially to Jeanne and Don Conner.
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 6 Reviews
On the night of our reception we walked into a space that was transformed into exactly what we had envisioned--it was beautiful, rustic, and intimate all at the same time. Conner Catering and his staff made our experience unforgettable at the Old Mill.
Wedding: 10/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nikki 5 Reviews
I can not say enough great things about The Old Mill! It was an absolutely beautiful venue. Donald and his staff were so, so helpful and helped turn my visions into a perfect day! The weather was meant to be rainy and my husband and I were really bummed to have it indoors. Well, the weather cam through and so did the staff. When we realized it wasn't going to rain they set up everything in the courtyard. It was great to drive in there and see this outside:) I have to mention Leena. She was fantastic! She helped me with everything that day and didn't let touch anything. She kept telling me to sit down and eat. DUring pictures..which took longer than expected, she brought appetizers to my husband and I and said they were just for us:) If you love nature and you want a rustic wedding don't look any farther! The venue speaks for itself:)
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Diana 6 Reviews
Our wedding at the Old Mill on September 14, 2013 was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!!!! We had the ceremony in the River View location surrounded by beautiful tress. As I crossed over the little stone bridge with my father, my breath was taken away with the beautiful scenery. The rays of sunlight were shining down on us through the trees and it looked so magical. It felt like a dream.

We had cocktail hour in the tent and the Garden Courtyard. I honestly didn't even make it to the tent because we set up a beer garden with our favorite microbrews in the stone courtyard and the ambience was to die for.

The staff of Conner Catering at the Old Mill delivered top notch service. From the point of us arriving to the last song played, they were flawless. The event coordinator Lena was exceptional. She took the time to make sure all of our little details were met and most importantly made sure we enjoyed the food at cocktail hour and our first meal together as husband and wife.

All of our guests were raving about how gorgeous the venue was and how impressed they were with the food and service. I couldn't believe how PERFECT everything turned out. I can not give enough thanks to Donald and his staff at Conner Catering for delivering such and unforgettable day. THANK YOU!!!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We loved the setting, the food was great. Everyone was very helpful and professional. Very happy with our choice.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 6 Reviews
The Old Mill is a gorgeous venue! There are so many beautiful locations to hold a ceremony outdoors as well as indoor alternative(s) if necessary. The staff was absolutely amazing and always thinking one step ahead of us on the evening of our wedding. The venue is very flexible and accommodating. We loved every minute of our wedding day and highly recommend working with The Old Mill!
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristy 5 Reviews
This venue is absolutely stunning and unique. We had our ceremony and reception on premises and everything went seamlessly. The staff is professional and friendly and the ambiance is breathtaking.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ginnene 3 Reviews
Don is fabulous and that venue is beautiful. We had a surprise wedding for 70 guests and Don was so supportive and excited about our idea. He is honest and up front which I really appreciate. My husband and I were paying a large portion of the wedding on our own and Don worked within our budget. He was also understanding that we did not want the traditional stuffy wedding but a relaxed atmosphere where guests would have a great meal and enjoy all of the beautiful grounds at OldMill. Little does Don know that I will be calling him for baptisms, anniversary parties, etc, I will find an event so we can return to Old Mill and work with Don again. Our guests are still calling our parents and commenting on the quality of the food and the how accommodating his staff was to our families. Thank you Don for such a beautiful day!
Wedding: 06/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Loved this space. Got so many compliments on the unique venue. We were not able to have our wedding by the tree due to the weather but had it in the courtyard which I think might have worked out better for the beautiful pictures we got! Conner Catering is the exclusive caterer here and they are wonderful as well
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 8 Reviews
The Old Mill was the perfect location for our wedding. We had planned an outdoor ceremony but at the last minute the crew had to bring everything inside due to rain and the ceremony ended up better than we could have possibly imagined in front of the indoor fireplace :) The staff was very professional and catered to our every need. We got to choose colored linens and napkins at no additional costs as well as chivari chairs which are also included. Don was great to work with although sometimes had to email him a few times before hearing back from him. The food was delicious- we didn't get to eat much but our guests raved about it!! Wished that the site costs included all the "extras" (i.e. heat in the tent, the tent, the outdoor lighting, etc) but it all worked out in the end and we had a wonderful ceremony and reception here at a reasonable cost. You also must BYOB which saved us $. If you choose the Old Mill we would highly recommend additional lighting for the interior like we had!
Wedding: 11/02/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
I was a guest at a wedding and it was absolutely perfect except for one thing, but it was not related to the old mill. After a night of celebrating, eating and drinking with the bride and groom a designated driver picked us up and on our way out we were stopped by a man who I am assuming was a neighbor. He took our photograph as we were leaving for "proof." proof of what I am not sure, but it was very strange and I am concerned about the use of these photos. I know this is out of the control of the old mill, but it was such a perfect night and for it to end with some creepy old man taking a photograph of our faces and vehicle without our permission made me very uncomfortable. Again I know this is not the the old mills responsibility but it was a awkward end to a beautiful night.
The Old Mill responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for your review. We're not really sure who that person was or why they were taking your picture, but we will look into this matter immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Wedding: 11/02/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
[Powered By WeddingWire]